Catalunya Radio

My Journalism 2.0 teacher, Pipo, was nice enough to take my class on a tour of Catalunya Radio, where he works on a radio show. I have gone on tours of TV stations before and seen news rooms, but never a radio station. Although I have never listened to Catalunya Radio (I can assure you I would understand approximately zero percent of it), I will still excited to see the inner workings of a radio station. It was pretty much what I expected and quite similar to a news room.

When I worked at a news station back in the U.S. last summer, the news room was set up with a lot of desks for the reporters, researchers and writers. Next to that were the news sets for the morning news, nightly news and weather report. Behind all that was the control room. The Catalunya Radio office was not so different. There were desks set

up all throughout the officer for different shows to work together as teams. Then there are the different studios where the radio shows take place. And of course, there is also a control room area.

At home I am used to listening to radio stations that play music, like Z100 in New York. My visit to Catalunya Radio made me realize I should start using the radio as a means of information gathering. There are many options in the U.S., such as NPR, that can provide me with vital news. This experience helped me realize I should open my eyes to that.

 

About Allison Miszner

Hello, my name is Allison Miszner. I am a junior public relations student at the University of Maryland studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain, for the semester. Follow my blog read about my experience traveling through Spain and Europe for the next four months. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Journalism 2.0 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment