Montserrat

This weekend, my friend and I finally made it over to Monserrat for a nice morning hike. It wasn´t until we were unable to breath halfway up the hill that we realized how much we are truly out of shape after spending three and a half months abroad. Time to get back to the gym…

It was a beautiful morning and the sky was very clear. This made for a fantastic view. We decided to do one of the less intense hikes. It took us about 45 minutes to an hour to get to the top. We stopped along the way to check out the view of Barcelona, but nothing was like the view from the top. We were able to see everything- the city, the mountains, the water. It was breath taking and well worth the work to get there.

After the hike we went to see the famous Black Madonna. The church was beautiful and I could really tell how significant of a religious experience seeing it was for so many people. The line to get close up to the Black Madonna was so long. It held a lot of weight with people from all over the world coming to see it. I have to admit though, it was a lot smaller than I expected.

We ended the day with tasting local cheeses and figs at the stands along the market. I don’t even know what kind of cheese I was trying. I just took all the free samples. It was all delicious! I haven’t had figs since I was a kid and used to eat Fig Newtons. It was like a taste of my childhood, except a lot more fresh and lot better tasting. My day at Montrerrat was a great one!

About Allison Miszner

Hello, my name is Allison Miszner. I am a junior public relations student at the University of Maryland studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain, for the semester. Follow my blog read about my experience traveling through Spain and Europe for the next four months. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

