When in Rome…

This past weekend, it was off to Rome for me and my friends! We were visiting friends in Rome, so we had a jam packed weekend of sight seeing, shopping and of course EATING (pizza on pasta on pizza on gelato)! Let me take you through our full day of sight seeing in Rome…

It was a bright and early wake up call of 9:30 a.m. to start our day of sight seeing. My friend from high school showed us around, becoming our own personal tour guide. First stop: Pantheon. This was a beautiful Roman church (one of many we saw that day), that had a huge open dome at the top. We learned that because there is an opening in the dome, there is a drainage system in the Pantheon that was created to prevent flooding when it rains.

The dome is open, which is why the Pantheon has a drainage system. The front of the Pantheon has classic Roman columns.

Next stop: Spanish Steps. I have to say, I was a bit distracted by the Prada, Louis Vuitton and Gucci that lined the street that led to the steps, but the steps themselves were absolutely gorgeous. The fountain in front, set the scene that led up to the steps, which were covered with people sitting and talking. It really displayed the European lifestyle as the people were just sitting and relaxing, unlike us crazy Americans who were running around Rome like chickens with their heads cut off trying to pack everything in.

A beautiful view of the Spanish Steps.

On to the next stop…the Trevi Fountain. This put the fountain in front of the Spanish Steps to shame. The Trevi Fountain was one of the most gorgeous sights I have ever seen. I was so impressed by the architecture, especially the statue of Zeus that stood as the centerpiece of the fountain. Of course, we made our wishes and followed the rules: opposite hand over opposite shoulder. Hopefully, our wishes will come true! But I’ll never tell you what I wished for….

Me and my best friend in front of the Trevi Fountain.

Last stop: The Colosseum. This was probably the highlight for me. The Colosseum is one of the most well known sights in the world. I have learned about it and seen it in movies growing up. The fact that it is still so well in tact is so incredible to me. It took a lot out of me to pass up on the cheesy photo with the fake gladiators who lined the front (nice day job), but I forgot all about that photo opp as soon as was able to see the ruins inside. I just had visions of ancient Romans watching gladiator fights and I have to say it was one of the coolest things I have ever seen.

Standing in front of the historical Colosseum

Even though I may be a few pounds heavier (pizza, pasta and gelato are not exactly diet friendly), Rome was my favorite trip I have taken since I have been abroad. The Italian people and food were amazing and the sights were incredibly historic. All in all, it was an great weekend!

 

About Allison Miszner

Hello, my name is Allison Miszner. I am a junior public relations student at the University of Maryland studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain, for the semester. Follow my blog read about my experience traveling through Spain and Europe for the next four months. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

