Prague

This weekend, I met up with some of my high school and college friends in Prague. I was really excited to go to the Czech Republic because it’s so different from Barcelona. I had also heard that Prague was a very beautiful city. I travelled with two friends from Barcelona and saw my four friends who are studying there are my other friend who is studying in Rome. It was great to have such a fun reunion with everyone!

The first day we got there was packed with tourism. We went for breakfast and I was finally able to get egg whites!! (Something they don’t serve in Barcelona…) After that and a Starbucks (have to hold onto something American), I was ready to sight see. First stop was the Lennon Wall, or the John Lennon Wall, which is a wall that has been covered with John Lennon inspired graffiti since the 1980s. The graffiti was very cool, but the size of the wall was underwhelming. I expected something a bit more Great Wall-esque.

My friends are I posed in front of the Lennon Wall.

Next stop was a walk along the Charles Bridge, which provided a beautiful view of the city and led us to the adorable Old Town Square. When I was Old Town Square I felt like I was in a Disney story. It was so cute and quaint and the building were unlike anything I’ve ever seen before. Of course, I went to the top of the Astronomical Clock to get a gorgeous view of the city. Afterwards, I tried the famous hot wine- not before though, never safe to drink and climb a clock tower! After Old Town Square,  we strolled through the Jewish Quarter and really got a sense of what it was like for the Jews living there when it was a ghetto. We were able to see the gates, which used to be closed at night to keep the Jews from leaving. Finally we ended the day with a visit to the Memorial to the victims of Communism, which was recently constructed in 2002.

After a day of touring, we were able to spend the rest of the weekend relaxing, catching up and going to great meals. It was amazing to see Prague with both old friends and new friends. Every time I see a new city, I fall in love with it and claim it was my “favorite trip so far.” I guess I’m just going to have to wait until May to finally decide which trip really was the best!

About Allison Miszner

Hello, my name is Allison Miszner. I am a junior public relations student at the University of Maryland studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain, for the semester. Follow my blog read about my experience traveling through Spain and Europe for the next four months. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

