Carnival in Sitges

Last week, my friends and I went to Sitges to celebrate a traditional Spanish Carnival! I have never been to Mardi Gras in New Orleans before, so I was very excited to see what this parade was all about. In doing research before hand, I learned al lot about what the holiday of Carnival means. Carnival is a Catholic celebration that occurs in February, leading up to Lent. It is celebrated with parades and costumes.

Needless to say, the party was crazy. There were hundreds of people running through the streets, singing and dancing, with costumes on making them unrecognizable. At one point, I even stole a wig from a stranger. What happens in Sitges, stays in Sitges. It was all in good fun though, and it really seemed like everybody there was enjoying themselves while celebrating the holiday. However, I think religious meaning of the holiday was lost on this crowd.

My friends and I dressed up for Carnival in Sitges.

Coming from New York, I’ve witnessed my fair share of flamboyant costume parades. I have to say though that this one takes the cake as the craziest. I’ve never seen more elaborate costumes in my life. Honestly, just wearing wings and a feathered mask, I felt completely underdressed. If I could do it over again, I would. Recommendation to future travelers to Sitges for Carnival: Don’t hold back!

About Allison Miszner

Hello, my name is Allison Miszner. I am a junior public relations student at the University of Maryland studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain, for the semester. Follow my blog read about my experience traveling through Spain and Europe for the next four months. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

