Diaspora

Diaspora is something I have heard of before, but never used. I really wasn´t even quite sure what it was to be honest. So when my weekly Journalism 2.0 assignment was to write about Diaspora, I had to do some reasearch. My first thought, before doing any research was that if I am not really familiar with Diaspora, then it must not be promoted and advertised as well as it could be. I am an active social media user- I have a Facebook, Twitter and two blogs. I am also familiar with Google+, Four Square and various other social networking sites. So it really surprised me when I had to ask myself, what is Diaspora?

Diaspora is a new website breaking into the social media scene.

First things I learned about Diaspora- it´s free and it was created by a group of smart college guys. Duh, what else is new. Sounds like every other social media network. But what is Diaspora´s function? In other words, why should I create one? The point of Diaspora is to allow for privacy in your social network by allowing users to set up their own pod. It allows users to host their own data in the own web host.

Ok, this all sounds great but I still don´t understand the appeal over Facebook. With all these other social networking sites coming to life, I just don´t think they stand a chance. Right now Facebook is a monoply that I really feel can not be tested. But, maybe as Diaspora becomes more well known it will give Facebook a run for it´s money. Only time shall tell if anything stands a chance against the power house that is Faceboo.

About Allison Miszner

Hello, my name is Allison Miszner. I am a junior public relations student at the University of Maryland studying abroad in Barcelona, Spain, for the semester. Follow my blog read about my experience traveling through Spain and Europe for the next four months. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Journalism 2.0 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

